October 2014: An afternoon in Yass

Cobblestone Cottage, Yass. Source: Wikipedia, Mattingbh

One fine afternoon after a long drive from Balranald with nothing but myself, the God awful Amarok and an even more God awful (but fun) Matthew Reilly audiobook for company, I found myself wandering the streets of Yass like some kind of reprobate. And like all reprobates of calibre, I found myself in the local historical society’s museum. People, we need to stop a moment and appreciate tiny little leather boots and hand drawn cardboard cut outs of Yass’s historical street scape with photos. And Hamilton Hume’s telescope. And fossils! I had a great chat with the historical society member at the desk about the value of a historical streetscape and the threat of urban sprawl from Canberra before continuing down the street, ducking in and out of op shops. I stopped to admire a beautiful old cottage down near the park along Yass River and found myself chatting to its devoted owners. That beautiful cottage turned out to be one of the oldest buildings still standing. Cobblestone Cottage was built as a store and Post Office and an extension hosed the first Commercial Bank in Yass. The owners had poured a small fortune into its upkeep and its facade gleamed like the glossy and full coat of a living creature that was well loved. On cottage dwellers’ recommendations I continued my explorations with a walk along the river. Eventually the sun began to set and I wandered back to the motel and fell into an exhausted sleep. Learn some more about Yass here.

Leave a Reply

