The Royalty Free Clause Part 2

Thirteen days ago I wrote to the Football Federation Australia asking the following questions:

  • Is it possible to opt out of this clause [non-exclusive, royalty free, world-wide, irrevocable license to use your name and/or image in any form or media format for the purpose of marketing and promotional activities;] and still register and play? If not, why not?
  • Is it possible to sign an amended version of this clause which allows an individual to be informed of the form, media and intended audience of the marketing and promotional activities on a case by case basis, with the right to opt out if that individual is uncomfortable with this intended use. If not, why not?

I am yet to receive a response. I have emailed another contact on the myfootball club website.

I went in person to register with my local club in the hope that I would be able to sign a paper contract and strike out the offending clause. I felt this would give me grounds to dispute any use of name and image without permission (in that exceedingly unlikely event) and more importantly, satisfy my honour because the need for such a clause is so unlikely. Local clubs are no longer accepting paper registrations. All registrations must go through the myfootballclub website. So the only way to register and play local club soccer is through accepting the royalty free, world-wide, irrevocable license.

Next on my list, ringing.

2 Responses to The Royalty Free Clause Part 2

  1. Katie says:

    The saga continues! I wonder if anyone else has ever asked them about this? Or even read the terms and conditions? How strange to live in a society where our likeness and identity can be traded on the basis of wanting to play soccer.

    • Bathmat says:

      I think it’s strange that of the hundreds of people playing club soccer I appear to be the only one questioning that clause. Not a peep on the google with the exception of this blog. I reread the terms and conditions for registration tonight and there were definitely no other conditions that mitigate it. I wonder if the terms and conditions are different for minors.

      My local club were really nice about it and said they’d keep me informed about what was happening with the womens’ teams until I got registration sorted.

Leave a Reply

