The Royalty Free Clause

I have a long-standing gripe with the increasing use of the following clause in standard contracts:

grant [insert organisation] a non-exclusive, royalty free, world-wide, irrevocable license to use your name and/or image in any form or media format for the purpose of marketing and promotional activities;

I do not want to grant organisations non-exclusive, royalty free, world-wide, irrevocable license to use my name and/or image in any form or media format, especially before I have had the opportunity to review, accept or veto how my name and image are to be used.

Why am I griping about this now? Because I went to join up to a local soccer club. You know, local, a bunch of local lasses, in my case unskilled, running around a field chasing after a ball. No glory, not really marketing material. Part of that process is registering as a player with Football Federation Australia. And apparently, a part of that process is signing away my rights to my name and image.

There are three parts to this:

  1. I’m applying to be a player at the lowest possible level of football. I don’t believe that there is any need for marketing my name or my image so why should I have to sign my rights away?
  2. I don’t want to be treated like a commodity in every aspect of my life. I love football, I want to play football and I want to play football with other people. Is it no longer possible to do this without signing away my name and image for commercial purposes?
  3. I’m just a local citizen, playing a local game. I kinda wish I was entitled to some degree of privacy and for people to ask first and specify exactly how my name and image is to be used for all time on a case by case basis, not just a blanket, generic clause  “for advertising and marketing material.”

Is this clause in the spirit of the Football Federation Australia’s privacy policy? Or the Privacy Act in general?

Here I was ready to pay my $340 for the winter season, excited to play football again and now I’m seriously questioning why I should agree to the registration form. If I sign the form (it’s the only way I know of to play competitive football locally) then I’m just one more commodity kicking a ball. And that makes me sad.

5 Responses to The Royalty Free Clause

  1. Katie says:

    It’s just ridiculous that there’s no opt-out, either. Your options seem to be either to agree to the terms or don’t play soccer and that’s just stupid.

  2. Jody and Ken says:

    Welcome to the world of Facebook and Instagram. You play, you agree. The only way to stop this nonsense is for people to stop agreeing. There ought to be some middle ground. Ken

    • Bathmat says:

      The thing with soccer/football is that unlike “free” services like Instagram and Facebook I’m actually paying a fee to be part of a club for 12 months. It’s just that extra bit cheeky.

  3. Flit says:

    What a pile of pathetic puke, that’s just plainly disgusting and confusing. I hope they actually respond to your letter.

Leave a Reply

