Shell of the Day – Scutus Antipode

CLARE: I can’t believe how excited I am about this project. I’ve been itching for 5pm since 9am.

GENERAL (imaginary) AUDIENCE: But Clare, everybody wishes work was over on a Friday.

CLARE: But most people on Friday wish work was over for parties and friends and alcoholic beverages.

GENERAL (imaginary) AUDIENCE: And sleep, you forgot sleep.

CLARE: … and for sleep. But I wanted work to be over for this….

Have you seen anything so damn bloody adorable?? Look at his little eye! (Source: Barwon Bluff Marine Sanctuary, click for link). I haven’t been this overwhelmed by cuteness since fighting Diablo in Act IV of Diablo II. And I’ve spent a lot of unnecessary hours looking at little bunnies at Cute Overload.

The elephant slug is actually a marine snail that grazes on algae and belongs to the same family (Fissurellidae) as key-hole limpets.  They often turn up in Aboriginal shell middens in Victoria. The black flesh was cut away to eat the muscular foot (Museum of Victoria). I believe all of my specimens of elephant slug/snail come from NSW.

20121123-173220.jpg

Scutus Antipode in my collection

20121123-173237.jpg

For Katie…

2 Responses to Shell of the Day – Scutus Antipode

  1. Katie says:

    Huzzah for odd-looking underwater gastropods and huzzah for shells being photographed in proper archaeological fashion!

    • Bathmat says:

      Well, sort of. I left out the scale and north arrow. In some parts of the archaeological world my photos would be rejected.

Leave a Reply

