Hells bells, with rings on

I was recently coralled into participating into this daily post challenge thing (NaBloPoMo) by Katie of Katiefoolery but couldn’t figure out what its affiliation (if any) was to NaNoWriMo. The official home of NaBloPoMo made my eyes bleed (poor design, advertisements). There was no link entitled “What is NaBloPoMo” or “About Us.” There were a lot of links to cross-posting on BlogHer and why I should join BlogHer. The cynic in me wondered if this might have something to do with raising revenue but BlogHer informed me this was actually about us participants self-promoting our blog posts for the love and wonderment of mankind and the chance of a prize! Phew. There’s probably a link on that site somewhere about donating laptops and supporting charitable acts that improve literacy, just like NaNoWriMo, but I just couldn’t find it. Onwards to google!

NaBloPoMo (aka National Blog Posting Month) was created by Eden Kennedy who wrote:

In 2006 I started NaBloPoMo as kind of a joke because I’d failed at NaNoWriMo the previous year. I decided that if I couldn’t write a novel in thirty days, at the very least I could post on my blog every day for a month. I thought maybe thirty or forty people would do it with me. We ended up with around 2,000 bloggers, I think. In 2007 we moved to a real web site and got almost 6,000 people, and by January of 2010 we had more than 16,000 members. WHERE DID ALL YOU PEOPLE COME FROM?!
In 2010 Eden sold NaBloPoMo to BlogHer.com. On November 1st, 2011, the old NaBloPoMo site (hosted at Ning) was closed, and NaBloPoMo is now hosted at BlogHer.

http://nablopomoguideunofficial.blogspot.com.au/2011/11/history-of-nablopomo.html

There’s something rather dodgy about quoting a quote but there you have it. The golden history of NaBloPoMo written by a very helpful individual who has been participating in NaBloPoMo since 2007. Much appreciated! Onwards to white noise…

A random sunset with no relevance to this post

2 Responses to Hells bells, with rings on

  1. Katie says:

    Well, now I know! I didn’t even know about the prize thing; I just thought it was a good way to inspire me to get back into regular posting on my blog.

Leave a Reply

