When money isn’t enough…

I like collecting data. I like graphs. I bought an INano and it can record my exercise sessions at the gym on it’s little fitness app which can then be uploaded to Nike’s website to make pretty graphs. I read the Terms of Use and here’s why I won’t be using it:

NIKE’s Rights to Your Posting
Your User Generated Content is not confidential or proprietary. You grant, and warrant that you have the right to grant, to NIKE a non-exclusive, non-revocable, worldwide, transferable, royalty-free, perpetual right to use your User Generated Content in any manner or media now or later developed, for any purpose, commercial, advertising, or otherwise, including the right to translate, display, reproduce, modify, create derivative works, sublicense, distribute, assign and commercialize without any payment due to you.”

I think it’s polite that if a company wants my personal data and my user generated content it should ask for it or offer to pay for it rather than consider it their right for developing a useful tool. Put a slightly different way, I would rather pay for a toilet and pay my rates for maintenance of the sewerage network than have a free toilet and allow someone to monitor and data mine every litre of piss that is evacuated from my bladder at any given time for commercial purposes.

So, anyone want my money without needing commercial rights to my location, mass, velocity and image across time and space?

2 Responses to When money isn’t enough…

  1. Katie says:

    Oooh, graphs! I like those. You could always post them here, where we promise not to use them for nefarious purposes.*

    * Terms & conditions apply.

Leave a Reply

