1 December 2010 – San Francisco

Matt and I sat at a round metal table near the tram stop on the corner of Castro and Market Street. We had walked from the Green Tortoise Hostel in North Beach down Market Street, 12th Street, 16th Street stopping at a Malai/Thai restaurant, bookshops (Adobe and Valhalla) and the Dolores Mission. I had done about all the walking I was prepared to do with the flu and four hours sleep. Matt munched on a peanut cookie, me on Starburst jellies. A black homeless woman in a red sloppy-joe came up to our table and asked Matt for some food. He broke off a portion of the cookie. She walked off but returned moments later to retrieve a crumb that had fallen on the asphalt. I gave her the rest of my lollies. We got on the tram and headed back to our hostel to a free meal of burritos.

Street Art (16th, 17th Street)




On the way to the Green Tortoise Hostel

4 Responses to 1 December 2010 – San Francisco

  1. Flit says:

    That street art looks amazing! I can’t wait to see what else you dig up when you’re feeling more human. I hope the flu leaves you alone soon, it’s awfully rude of it to be treating you this way.

    • Bathmat says:

      All better now! Thankyou for your good wishes. There were so many murals and much street art that I didn’t get the chance to see or take photos of. No space invaders yet…

  2. Katie says:

    That street art is fantastic! I love those twisted houses.

    I hope you’re feeling better soon, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

